St. John’s claims Legends Classic title in thriller

St. John’s claims Legends Classic title in thriller

November 20, 2018

Shamorie Ponds set a Legends Classic presented by Old Trapper championship round scoring record in leading St. John’s to the 2018 title at Barclays Center.

Ponds scored 35 points and had seven assists and seven steals as the Red Storm came from behind to beat VCU, 87-86 in overtime.

Ponds was 11-of-25 from the field with a 3-pointer and 12-of-15 from the line. He was also the clutch player for St. John’s down the stretch, hitting a layup with 28 seconds to go in regulation to put the Red Storm up 73-72 for the first time since the 5:44 mark of the second half. A free throw by the Rams’ Marcus Evans sent the game into the extra session.

In overtime, Ponds scored eight points, including the game-winning lay-up with four seconds left. Unsurprisingly, he was named the tournament’s MVP.

In addition to Ponds, LJ Figueroa was named to the all-time team, capping his tournament with 15 points and nine rebounds. Marvin Clark II and Mikey Dixon added 10 points each.

VCU, which led for 32 of the game’s 45 minutes, received 30 points from Isaac Vann, who garnered all-tournament laurels. De’Riante Jenkins scored 14 points, Malik Crowfield had 13 points, and Evans ended the game with 12 points.

Ponds’ 67 points breaks one of the oldest Legends Classic records. The previous mark of 52 was set in the inaugural Legends Classic in 2007 by A.J. Abrams of Texas.

In the consolation game, Temple led virtually from start to finish in posting a 76-59 win over California.

The Owls took a 32-28 lead and proceeded to shoot 19-of-28 from the field in the second half to earn the victory.

Quinton Rose led all scorers with 23 points. Shizz Alston Jr. recorded 15 points and 10 assists. Speaking of assists, the Owls had 24 assists on 31 field goals.

Darius McNeill scored 12 points to lead the Bears.

All-Tournament Team
LJ Figueroa, St. John’s
Darius Mc Neill, Cal
Nate Pierre-Louis, Temple
Shamorie Ponds, St. John’s (MVP)
Isaac Vann, VCU

In the Subregional championship in Detroit, the host Titans received 32 points from Antoine Davis in earning an 82-67 win over Bowling Green to claim the Subregional title.

Josh McFolley netted 18 points and Derrien King added 14 for Detroit Mercy. The Falcons were led by Dylan Frye and Demajeo Wiggins who scored 13 points apiece.

Davis ended the Subregional Rounds with a combined 55 points to earn all-tournament honors.

In the consolation match, Loyola Maryland led from start to finish in downing Hampton, 75-66. Andrew Kostecka posted 18 points and Chuck Champion scored 17. Jermaine Morrow led the Pirates with 22 points.

All-Subregional Championship Team
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy (MVP)
Derrien King, Detroit Mercy
Andrew Kostecka, Loyola Maryland
Jermaine Morrow, Hampton
Justin Turner, Bowling Green

Share this Post