Gazelle Group | 2K Classic | Legends Classic | Gotham Classic | College Basketball Invitational | All-American Championship  
Legends Classic


Syracuse, Michigan, Georgia Tech & UTEP to Play in the Legends Classic Next Season in Atlantic City
Tickets Are Now On Sale

PRINCETON, N.J. - Syracuse, Michigan, Georgia Tech, and UTEP will compete in the 2010 Legends Classic, which culminates with the Championship Rounds at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J., Nov. 26-27. Championship Round tickets are now ON SALE.

TICKET INFORMATION: Tickets for Championship Round games at Boardwalk Hall are now ON SALE and may be purchased by calling Ticketmaster at 800-736-1420 or through

The format for the 2010 Legends Classic, which has fast become one of the nation's premier early-season college basketball tournaments, will remain the same as this past season. Twelve teams from across the nation will compete in the fourth annual event with Syracuse, Michigan, Georgia Tech, and UTEP hosting regional round games from Nov. 17-21. The four hosts will then advance to the Championship Rounds on Thanksgiving Weekend, Nov. 26-27, at Atlantic City's historic Boardwalk Hall, while the remainder of the field will participate in subregionals held at campus sites.

Other teams participating in the 2010 Legends Classic are Albany, Bowling Green, Detroit, Gardner-Webb, Mercer, Niagara, Western Carolina, and William & Mary. Detroit and William & Mary will host the subregional rounds.

Match-ups for the Championship Rounds, as well as the entire bracket for the 2010 Legends Classic, will be announced at a later date.

The four schools playing in Atlantic City, each of which was ranked prior to the start of conference play this season, have combined for 13 Final Four appearances, 84 trips to the NCAA Tournament, and three national championships. Each of the four schools have been to the NCAA Tournament a minimum of 15 times.

Syracuse: Ranked third in both polls with a 28-3 record...the Orange won the Big East regular season title...this is Syracuse’s 40th consecutive winning season...Syracuse is fifth all-time with 1,781 wins...this year's roster features nine freshmen, sophomores, and juniors, led by junior forward Wes Johnson, who leads the team in scoring (15.7 ppg) and rebounding (8.5 rpg)...sophomore frontcourt mate Kris Joseph is netting 11.0 points a game...Syracuse has been to the postseason 38 times in the last 39 seasons, winning the 2003 National Championship...Syracuse won the 2008 O'Reilly Auto Parts CBE Classic and the 2009 Coaches vs. Cancer Classic.

Michigan: Began the 2009-10 season ranked 15th in both polls...the Wolverines are the youngest team in the Big Ten and start only one senior...junior guard Manny Harris, who ranks among the top 15 in virtually every career offensive category in Michigan history, averages a team-best 17.7 points a game to go along with a high of 120 assists...sophomore guard Zack Novak is scoring at a 7.5 ppg rate...Michigan has been to the NCAA Tournament 21 times, earning the National Championship in 1989.

Georgia Tech: The Yellow Jackets have been ranked much of the season and are 19-11 on the year...Georgia Tech owns 23 postseason berths including 15 trips to the NCAA Tournament...has just two seniors on its 13-man roster, only one of whom starts...junior forward Gani Lawal leads the Ramblin' Wreck with averages of 13.6 points and 8.8 rebounds a game...freshman forward Derrick Favors is right behind with at 11.9 points and 8.4 rebounds per game.

UTEP: The Miners are 24-5 and are ranked 21st in the ESPN/USA Today poll and 25th in the AP poll...UTEP won the Conference USA regular season championship...UTEP has been to 27 postseason tournaments, including the College Basketball Invitational each of the last two years...features a roster with no seniors with four starters scoring in double figures...leading the pack is junior guard Randy Culpepper, who is scoring at an 18.1 ppg clip and ranks fifth on the Miners' career scoring list...junior forward Derrick Caracter has averages of 14.3 ppg and a team-high 8.4 rpg...UTEP (then Texas Western) won the 1966 National Championship, which was the topic of the bestselling 2005 book and the 2006 movie, "Glory Road."


The 2009 Legends Classic saw the emergence of Florida as the Gators, unranked prior to the event, posted wins over No. 2 Michigan State and Rutgers to claim the title. The wins catapulted Florida to No. 13 (AP) and 17 (ESPN/USA Today) in the next week's national polls.

The Northeast Conference (NEC) is the sponsoring conference of the Legends Classic. Now entering its 29th season, the NEC is an NCAA Division I collegiate athletic association consisting of 12 institutions of higher learning located throughout six states. For more information on the NEC, visit

Historic Boardwalk Hall first opened its doors in 1929 and recently underwent a three year, $90 million renovation to transform the building into a modern special events arena. Listed on the National Register of Historic Landmarks, it has been recognized as Atlantic City's premier entertainment venue, known for high profile concerts, family shows and sporting events. Visit for more information. For destination information about Atlantic City, visit

The Legends Classic is produced by The Gazelle Group in Princeton, N.J. The Gazelle Group is a sports marketing firm specializing in event production and management, client representation, and sponsorship consulting. Gazelle produces numerous nationally-recognized events, such as the Coaches vs. Cancer Classic, the O'Reilly Auto Parts CBE Classic, and the College Basketball Invitational (CBI). For more information on The Gazelle Group, please visit