Gazelle Group | 2K Classic | Legends Classic | Gotham Classic | College Basketball Invitational | All-American Championship  
All-American Championship: April 1&3, 2011


All-American Championship to be Played Sunday
Doubleheader features the nation's best high school boys basketball players

PRINCETON, N.J. - The inaugural All-American Championship, a doubleheader featuring the nation's best high school boys basketball players, will take place on Sunday, April 3, in Houston, Texas, site of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship. Both games of the doubleheader will be carried on ESPN Networks.

Representing the North squad are Tracy Abrams (Chicago, Ill./Mount Carmel H.S.); Ryan Boatright (Aurora, Ill./Aurora East H.S.); Kevin Ferrell (Indianapolis, Ind./Park Tudor School); Gary Harris (Fishers, Ind./Hamilton Southeastern H.S.); Mycheal Henry (Chicago, Ill./Orr H.S.); Hanner Mosquera-Perea (LaPorte, Ind./La Lumiere School); Chasson Randle (Rock Island, Ill./Rock Island H.S.); D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Indianapolis, Ind./North Central H.S.); Sam Thompson (Chicago, Ill./Whitney Young H.S.); and B.J. Young (Florissant, Mo./McCluer North H.S.).

The head coach of the North will be Lou Adams (Orr H.S., Chicago, Ill.). He will be assisted by Craig Brownson (Travis H.S., Richmond, Texas) and Cortez Hale (Perspective Charter School, Joslin, Ill.).

Members of the South team are Tyler Adams (Brandon, Miss./Brandon H.S.); Robert Carter (Thomasville, Ga./Thomasville H.S.); Rodney Hood (Meridian, Miss./Meridian H.S.); Ky Madden (Lepanto, Ark./East Poinsett County H.S.); Dai-Jon Parker (Alpharetta, Ga./Milton H.S.); Tony Parker (Lithonia, Ga./Miller Grove H.S.); Sir'Dominic Pointer (Fraser, Mich./Quality Education Academy (N.C.)); Levi Randolph (Madison, Ala./Bob Jones H.S.); Julian Royal (Milton, Ga./Milton H.S.); and Josiah Turner (Sacramento, Calif./Quality Education Academy (N.C.)).

The head coach of the South is Isaac Pitts (Quality Education Academy, Winston Salem, N.C.). He will be assisted by Wayne Jones (Strake Jesuit College Prep, Houston, Texas).

The East team consists of Dajuan Coleman (DeWitt, N.Y./Jamesville-DeWitt H.S.); Michael Gbinije (Chester, Va./Benedictine School); Maurice Harkless (Jamaica, N.Y./South Kent School (Conn.)); Jabarie Hinds (Mount Vernon, N.Y./Mount Vernon H.S.); Desmond Hubert (Cream Ridge, N.J./New Egypt H.S.); Tyrone Johnson (Plainfield, N.J./Montrose Christian Academy (Md.)); Myles Mack (Paterson, N.J./St. Anthony H.S.); Alex Murphy (Wakefield, R.I./St. Mark's School (Mass.)); LaQuinton Ross (Burlington, N.J./Life Center Academy); JaKarr Sampson (Akron, Ohio/Brewster Academy (N.H.); and Naadir Tharpe (Worcester, Mass./Brewster Academy (N.H.)).

Jason Smith (Brewster Academy, Wolfeboro, N.H.) will serve as the head coach of the North. His assistant coach will be Ronnie Courtney (Bush H.S., Houston, Texas).

The West squad includes Ryan Anderson (Lakewood, Calif./Long Beach Polytechnic H.S.); Shaquille Cleare (Houston, Texas/The Village School); Perry Ellis (Wichita, Kan./Wichita Heights H.S.); D'Angelo Harrison (Missouri City, Texas/Dulles H.S.); Julien Lewis (Texas City, Texas/La Marque H.S.); Shabazz Muhammad (Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman H.S.); Norman Powell (Spring Valley, Calif./Lincoln H.S.); Cameron Ridley (Richmond, Texas/Bush H.S.); L.J. Rose (Houston, Texas/Second Baptist School); and Rasheed Sulaimon (Houston, Texas/Strake Jesuit College Prep).

The head coach of the West is Greg Wise (Yates H.S., Houston, Texas). He is assistant by Royce Huseman (Kingwood (Texas) H.S.).

The players participating in the event have committed to play for some of the nation's elite college basketball programs - Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Boston College, Connecticut, Duke, Georgetown, Georgia Tech, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas Mississippi State, Ohio State, Rutgers, St. John's, Stanford, Texas, UCLA, Vanderbilt, Villanova, and West Virginia.

In all, 27 seniors and 14 juniors will participate in the All-American Championship.

The games, which will take place on Sunday at the M.O. Campbell Center in Houston, Texas, will be carried live on, beginning at 3:00pm ET. The games will then be rebroadcast in primetime on ESPNU at 9:00pm ET that same evening. links are below:

Sun., Apr. 3, 2011 - 3:00pm (ET)
All-American Championship - North vs. South

Sun., Apr 3, 2011 - 4:45pm (ET) (approx.)
All-American Championship - East vs. West


A panel of the nation's most respected media covering high school basketball comprised the selection committee of the inaugural All-American Championship. The selection committee includes:

Paul Biancardi,
Eric Bossi,
Frank Burlison, Long Beach Press-Telegram
Evan Daniels,
Clark Francis, Hoop Scoop
Joel Francisco,
Rob Harrington, Prep Stars
Jason Hickman, Max Preps
Jim Hicks, RCS Sports (Houston, Texas)
Tom Konchalski, High School Basketball Illustrated
Chris Lawlor, New York Daily News

The All-American Championship is produced by The Gazelle Group of Princeton, N.J. The Gazelle Group is a sports marketing firm specializing in event production and management, client representation, and sponsorship consulting. Gazelle produces numerous nationally-recognized events, such as the 2K Sports Classic, the CBE Classic, the Legends Classic, and the CBI presented by Zebra Pen. The Gazelle Group is a member of USA Basketball. For more information on The Gazelle Group, please visit

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player